January Skincare Favourites

January Favouries

Superdrug Vitamin E Hot Cloth Cleanser, Elemis Balancing Toner, L’Oreal Skin Perfection Eye Cream, L’Oreal Triple Active Day Cream, Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream

 

There’s just a few days left of the most gloomy month of the year and I genuinely can’t wait! January seems to be when my skin goes into panic mode and the excess alcohol and food from the festive season show themselves as breakouts and dullness on my skin. Saying that, compiling my January skincare favourites has been really easy because these 5 products have been the things that have got me through.

Kicking off with the cheapest product in my favourites, the Superdrug Vitamin E Hot Cloth Cleanser. I’ve had this in my “currently using” skincare basket for a while and turned to it this month when my beloved Elemis creamy cleanser ran out. I am so happy to have rediscovered this! If, like me, you have combination skin then Superdrug’s bargain hot cloth cleanser is for you. The cleanser works into a really rich and creamy texture but doesn’t feel like it’s overloading your skin with oil. When washed off with a warm muslin cloth or flannel, you get that squeaky clean feeling without any dryness or tightness.

Moving onto my beloved Elemis, this month I’ve discovered their Balancing Lavender Toner. I was lucky enough to receive this for Christmas (it’s quite pricey ay £21 for 200ml) but I can genuinely say it’s well on its way to becoming my holy grail toner. Designed specifically for oily/combination skin, I’ve noticed less oil throughout the day and less clogging of my pores. As well as being effective, it smells A-MAZING which is always a bonus!

The L’Oreal Skin Perfection Awakening Eye Cream has saved my life this month! With long work hours making my eyes ache at the end of the day, this eye cream is the perfect solution first thing in the morning and last thing at night. According to the blurb on the box, the eye cream aims to reduce “dark circles, eye bags and fine lines” and whilst I don’t have fine lines (yet!), I do have a problem with dark circles but I’ve noticed a considerable difference since using this cream for a good 6 weeks.

Moving onto my favourite moisturiser of the month, I began using this L’Oreal Triple Active Day Cream after it came in a set with the L’Oreal Micellar water in the post-Xmas sales. I actually managed to get the set for less than the cost of 1 Micellar water so I wasn’t too fused about the day cream that came with it but I am so pleased I tried it out! Designed for sensitive skin, the cream sinks in incredibly quickly and is wonderful under make-up. This is priced at under £7 so is certainly worth checking out if you’re looking for a purse-friendly new day cream.

Finally, we move onto the Elemis Pro-Collagen Oxygenating Night Cream. Now, this baby is pretty expensive at an eye-watering £95 for 50ml. Ouch. Again, this was a Christmas gift and I’ve now had a month to try it out and fall in love with it! At 24, I’m certainly not what you’d class as someone with mature skin but I am very much into my age prevention products and doing as much as I can now to make sure I have great skin later in life without having to turn to botox at 40! Applying this night cream is such a pleasure and I’ve come to look forward to my nighttime skincare routine. Elemis is famed for it’s beautifully scented products and this one is no different. The product is rich without taking an age to sink into your skin and a pea-size amount will cover your whole face really easily. I apply this and rub it in upward motions across my face as to not drag the skin down. When I wake up, my skin is visibly more brightened and hydrated and I’ve noticed a slight firming across my cheeks and neck that wasn’t there this time last month. This really is an investment product but I’ve found it to be worth every single penny so far.

What are you loving this month? Do you have a budget toner that you can’t live without? Or, like me, are you addicted to a product with a price tag that makes your other half wince? Let me know!

13 thoughts on “January Skincare Favourites

  1. Strange ditto skincare posts – must be in the air. My friend is loving the L’Oréal Skin Perfection range, she wishes she could buy the whole lot so I am intrigued to try. Only used Elemis products when having a facial but this toner sounds lovely!

    • Agree that the entire Vitamin E range is really good 🙂 I used to use the facial oil to take off waterproof mascara and it was brilliant!

    • Snap! The L’Oreal one is under £9 and I managed to get it for a third off in Boots so keep your eyes peeled (no pun intended!) for discounts and deals.

    • Pleased to hear! Skincare is one of my favourite luxuries. If you’re new to cleansers/toners/treatments etc then I’d suggest checking out Liz Earle, Soap and Glory and Elemis if you’ve got a little bit more to spend 🙂

  2. MUST try that Superdrug cleanser – just eking the last bits out of my Clinique cleansing balm, and as gorgeous as it is I need a slightly cheaper replacement! x

Leave a Reply

